Jackson Foursome Wins Golf Classic (Again)

See photos from the 2012 Maranatha Golf Classic here

Doug Jackson and his golf partners just keep finding ways to top themselves.

Jackson, pastor of Community Baptist Church in Saginaw, MI, and chairman of Maranatha’s Board of Trustees, teamed with Dave Clark, Adam Ray, and Kyle Snell (above) to win Friday’s 13th Annual Maranatha Golf Classic at Watertown Country Club. It was the third Classic win in four years for that foursome and the seventh time in eight years Jackson has been part of the winning team.

The difference this time was the top score—50, or three strokes better than in 2011.

“We won three or four scrambles last year, but we never had a score this low,” Jackson said. “We were hitting real long drives; when you’re old like me, that really helps. We putted well too, which is part of the reason we ended up with five eagles.”

Beautiful weather helped encourage 107 of the 108 registered golfers participate, one more than in 2011. Proceeds from the event go to the Watertown Endowment, which helps defray student costs by supporting faculty and staff benefits.

Jackson, Clark, Ray, and Snell overpowered the 27-team field. Cary Flink, Dana Flinck, Matt Fure, and Ron Gotzman were a distant second (57), followed by Geoff Lee, Victor Benson, Joel Bauman, and John Nankey (58).

“Everyone had contributing shots,” Snell said. “It was a pure foursome; everyone did well. We even had mulligan and red tee cards left over at the end.”

Sponsors donated prizes for the winners and for the silent auction that accompanied the event. Items that were auctioned included a football signed by members of the Green Bay Packers’ 2011 Super Bowl team, tickets for Milwaukee Brewers and Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, free nights in hotels, and free weeks at camps. Items at the prize table included tools and tool boxes, restaurant gift cards, golf clothing and equipment, and unique craft items.

Contest winners included Lee (under-50 long drive, 305 yards), Ray (No. 18, closest to pin), Rob Thompson (over-50 long drive, 288 yards), Dale Dow (putting), Peter Wright (No. 4, longest putt), Matt Davis (No. 8, longest drive), and Brian Davis (No. 16, longest putt).