Men’s, Women’s Basketball Earn NCCAAII Honors

WATERTOWN, Wis. – The men’s and women’s basketball teams each had individuals honored with All-Region, Scholar-Athlete Awards and Coach of the Year Awards in the NCCAAII Midwest Region.

Women’s Coach, Clayton Morrison received the Region’s Coach of the Year Award after guiding Maranatha to a 16-11 record, and a Midwest Region Championship.

Morrison also led the team to a school record seven wins in the Northern Athletics Conference, double the previous record of three since joining the Conference.

Junior forward Torey DeLozier, sophomore center Laci Peterson, guards Autumn Peotter and Kristin Morrison were all selected to the All-Region Team.

Of the four, DeLozier and Peterson are eligible for the All-American Award, an honor reserved for the top-five players with the most votes in the Region.

DeLozier led the conference with a 57 FG% while averaging 11.8 points per game and 7.6 rebounds per game. Peterson led the team in scoring (12.9 ppg.), rebounding (8.6) and blocks per game (4.1).

Peterson ranked 4th in the NAC in rebounding and 6th in all of the NCAAIII for blocks per game out of 300 ranked players.

Junior guard Hallie Nelson also received Honorable Mention.

DeLozier, Autumn Peotter, Kristin Morrison and Hallie Nelson were also named Scholar-Athletes.

On the men’s side, Joel Borchardt was selected to the All-Region 1st team while junior guard Matt McGivern received Honorable Mention.

Borchardt averaged 12.0 points per game on 46% shooting and grabbed 8.8 rebounds per game (2nd NAC). He was also a 73% free-throw shooter.

McGivern led the team in assists per game (4.3) and had 5.1 points and 2.3 rebounds per game.

To view the NAC Season Awards, click here