Micah Risinger Piano Recital Highlights

This semester, Micah Risinger performed his Senior Piano Recital. From beginning to end, the audience appreciated his mastery of the styles of composers including Handel, Beethoven, Brahms, and Debussy. While mostly performing solo, Risinger also welcomed fellow pianist Joseph Rincon to play a sacred piano duet.

“Micah played a lovely recital!” commented Carol Ruffin, who praised him for his meticulous preparation. “Lovely performance,” added Melody Steinbart. “Your interpretation of Debussy and Brahms were well done.”

Risinger gave his recital under the direction of June Brus to fulfill the requirements of a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Music with concentrations in Arranging and Church Music. Following graduation, he hopes to teach at a Christian school, minister at a summer camp, and pursue a master’s degree in music composition.

What Wondrous Love Is This/The Love of God

Arr. by Virginia Halberg

This arrangement combines two well-loved hymns that meditate on God’s love. Throughout his time as both a student and musician, Risinger has reflected on the love shown to him not only by God, but also by his mom. For her years of support and encouragement, Risinger dedicated this performance to her.

Intermezzo in A Major, Op. 118, No. 2

Johannes Brahms

During the Romantic Era, an intermezzo provided a transition between the acts of a larger work. This intermezzo originates from Brahm’s 1893 collection Six Pieces for Piano, which he dedicated to pianist Clara Schumann. Written at the end of his life, Brahms used thick harmonies and a repetitious opening motif to convey feelings of beauty, introspection, and sadness.

Be Still, My Soul

Arr. by Shelly Hamilton

This arrangement uses rapid arpeggiated triplets, subtle harmonic changes, and quiet moments to paint a picture of God standing with us amid life’s storms. Risinger performed this duet alongside fellow pianist and Maranatha student Joseph Rincon.

La Cathedrale Engloutie (The Sunken Cathedral)

Claude Debussy

Debussy based this piece on the legendary French City of Ys. As the story goes, God judged this wicked city and submerged its cathedral in the sea. Once every year, the cathedral emerges to the surface before ringing its bells and returning to the watery depths. Throughout the piece, Debussy uses parallel 5ths, a vague tonal center, and bell-like sounds to paint a picture of the cathedral’s rising and falling.Thanks to our partners, discover a wide range of Patek Philippe Replica watches available online to suit different preferences and budgets, ranging from affordable options to top-tier Super Clone models.