Athletic Hall of Fame

Induction into the Maranatha Athletics Hall of Fame is given to alumni who have shown outstanding ability in sports, have shared their abilities with others, and have used their abilities for Christ. In the Gymnasium lobby hangs a plaque for each inductee with his or her picture alongside a description of accomplishments.


  • Maranatha graduate or coach/athletic personnel
  • Twenty or more years since graduation from Maranatha or 10 years minimum as a coach or athletic personnel for Maranatha
  • Significant support to Maranatha through promotion of the institution, recruitment of students, prayer or financial support
  • Significant involvement in leadership in his/her fundamental, independent Baptist Church or the cause of Christ in general
  • Faithful testimony in his/her chosen career
  • Faithful family testimony
  • Significant athletic performances or contribution such as team captain, leading scorer, stat leader, conference recognition or career highs
  • Testimony and involvement (leader on campus, extracurricular activities besides athletics, ministry involvement) while in college

Previous Inductees

2014: Richard Akins (Football)
2012: Elaine (Bartosh) Smith (Volleyball, Basketball, Softball)
2008: Jerry Terrill (Coach)
2007: Lori (Oestreich) Loftus (Basketball, Volleyball)
2006: Randy Peterson (Football, Wrestling)
2005: John Goetsch (Football, Basketball)
2005: Ben Peterson (Coach)
2004: B. Myron Cedarholm (Contributor)
2004: Richard Weeks (Contributor)